Shulamit Apfel, because

Posted on December 10, 2013 by

0


© Translation: 2013, Lisa Katz
First published on Poetry International, 2013
……………..
BECAUSE

Since I didn’t show any signs that I knew how to read no one paid attention when I began to write. Neither of them was fluent in the language. He read only Polish. This was convenient because they both died without reading a line of what I wrote. Mother died during the Moscow Olympics. Father died during the Olympics in Los Angeles, and because I stayed awake, I suddenly had something to talk about to the men I met in the morning. My sister tried to break out of her grave during the Barcelona Olympics, the only death that nearly did me in. When everyone was gone and there was no one left to play with, I simply sat on the edge of the sidewalk until a neighbor called my mother and said: hey, your daughter’s nearly been run over, and my mother shouted at her and called her a liar.

111

DON’T ASK

Don’t ask if I’m writing,
it’s none of your business. You were the reason
for the escape into metaphors,
for despair.
It’s possible to make a mistake, to think
that your husband had discovered
you’d secretly
gained control of me.
And when I couldn’t take it
any longer
the desire to be buried
was mine.

More HERE.

Și o încercare de traducere:

Nu întreba

Nu întreba dacă scriu,
nu e treaba ta. Tu ai fost motivul
pentru evadarea în metafore,
pentru disperare.
E posibil să fi făcut o greșeală, să crezi
că soțul tău a descoperit
că în secret
ai căpătat controlul asupra mea.
Iar când nu am mai putut
rezista
dorința de a fi îngropată
a fost a mea.

O întrebare pentru Grace

Mă simt moartă. Nu am apucat să o întreb pe Grace
dacă se poate începe un text cu o asemenea declarație,
între timp am plecat din New York să adunăm mere
și pe ambele părți ale drumului ardeau dovleci în jur.
Nu am călătorit niciodată înăuntrul unei mâneci
atât de portocalii
și când ne-am oprit să bem cidru la han
mi-am imaginat că am văzut capul gri al lui Grace
printre oamenii cu păr-grâu
iar acasă am citit că era murise.