Erasing Infinite / a D.F.W. & Jenni B. Baker project

Posted on August 31, 2014 by

0


EPSON MFP image

”Poet Jenni B. Baker creates erasure poetry from David Foster Wallace’s “Infinite Jest,” one page at a time…”’

Tocmai am descoperit un nou proiect referitor la ”Infinite Jest” by David Foster Wallace, construit de poetesa Jenni B. Baker. D.F.W. would have loved this for sure. Ideea e genială – rezultatul la fel, infinitul lui Wallace, șters, devenind poezie. E și acesta un mod de a scrie, o potriveală care devine poezie dar și o operă vizuală, bună de înrămat. Descoperirea poeziei ascunsă în proză, dar nu în oricare proză, ci în Infinite Jest.

M-am gândit să fac lucrurile mai interesante (sau enervante) și să pun și câteva din citatele pe care le-am păstrat eu din Infinite Jest.

Infinite Jest, Page 189: “Lean In”:

i2This is not working out. It strikes me that exit signs would look to a native speaker of Latin like red-lit signs that say HE leaves. I would yield to the urge to bolt for the door ahead of them if I could know that bolting for the door is what the men in this room would see. (9-10)

Infinite Jest, Page 188: “The Production of Heart”:

i3A neutral and affectless silence. The sort of all-defensive game Schtitt used to have me play: the best defense: let everything bounce off you; do nothing. I’d tell you all you want and more, if the sounds I made could be what you hear.

Infinite Jest, Page 186: “Inflated”:

i4I had stopped crying, he remembers, and simply stood there, the size and shape of a hydrant, in red PJ’s with attached feet, holding out the mold, seriously, like the report of some kind of audit. O. Says his memory diverges at this point, probably as a result of anxiety. In his first memory, the Moms’s path around the yard is a broad circle of hysteria:
‘God!’ she calls out.
‘Help! My son ate this!’

Infinite Jest, Page 185: “Sometimes”:

i5‘God! Help! My son ate this! Help!’ she kept yelling, running a tight pattern just inside the square of string; and my brother Orin remembers noting how even in hysterical trauma her flight-lines were plumb, her footprints Native-American-straight, her turns, inside the ideogram of string, crisp and martial, crying ‘My son ate this! Help!’ and lapping me twice before the memory recedes.

Infinite Jest, Page 184, “Psychosis”:

 

i6‘I am not just a boy who plays tennis. I have an intricate history. Experiences and feelings. I’m complex.
‘I read, ‘ I say. ‘I study and read. I bet I’ve read everything you’ve read. Don’t think I haven’t. I consume libraries. I wear out spines and ROM-drives. I do things like get in a taxi and say, “The library, and step on it. ” My instincts concerning syntax and mechanics are better than your own, I can tell, with due respect.

 

Infinite Jest, Page 183: “Through Dead Air”:

i7‘But it transcends the mechanics. I’m not a machine. I feel and believe. I have opinions. Some of them are interesting. I could, if you’d let me, talk and talk. Let’s talk about anything. I believe the influence of Kierkegaard on Camus is underestimated. I believe Dennis Gabor may very well have been the Antichrist. I believe Hobbes is just Rousseau in a dark mirror. I believe,
with Hegel, that transcendence is absorption. I could interface you guys right under the table, ‘ I say. ‘I’m not just a creatus, manufactured, conditioned, bred for a function. ‘
I open my eyes. ‘Please don’t think I don’t care. ‘
I look out. Directed my way is horror. I rise from the chair. I see jowls sagging, eyebrows high on trembling foreheads, cheeks bright-white. The chair recedes below me.
‘Sweet mother of Christ, ‘ the Director says.

Infinite Jest, Page 181: “Free”:

i8I am concentrating docilely on the question why U. S. Restrooms always appear to us as infirmaries for public distress, the place to regain control. My head is cradled in a knelt Director’s lap, which is soft, my face being swabbed with dusty-brown institutional paper towels he received from some hand out of the crowd overhead, staring with all the blankness I can summon into his jowls’ small pocks, worst at the blurred jawline, of scarring from long-ago acne.

Infinite Jest 180: “Proof”:

i9I simply lie there, listening, smelling the paper towel, watching an espadrille pivot.

Infinite Jest, Page 178: “Eviction”:

i10This arrangement, very casual, made him anxious, so he’d been even more casual and said sure, fine, whatever. Thinking back, he was sure he’d said whatever, which in retrospect worried him because it might have sounded as if he didn’t care at all, not at all, so little that it wouldn’t matter if she forgot to get it or call, and once he’d made the decision to have marijuana in his home one more time it mattered a lot. It mattered a lot. He’d been too casual with the woman, he should have made her take $1250 from him up front, claiming politeness, claiming he didn’t want to inconvenience her financially over something so trivial and casual. Money created a sense of obligation, and he should have wanted the woman to feel obliged to do what she’d said, once what she’d said she’d do had set him off inside. Once he’d been set off inside, it mattered so much that he was somehow afraid to show how much it mattered.

Infinite Jest, Page 175: “Here Is How to Be Sorry”:

i11He felt similar to the insect inside the girder his shelf was connected to, but was not sure just how he was similar. Once he’d decided to own marijuana one more last time, he was committed to several courses of action. He had to modem in to the agency and say that there was an emergency and that he was posting an e-note on a colleague’s TP asking her to cover his calls for the rest of the week because he’d be out of contact for several days due to this emergency. He had to put an audio message on his answering device saying that starting that afternoon he was going to be unreachable for several days. He had to clean his bedroom, because once he had dope he would not leave his bedroom except to go to the refrigerator and the bathroom, and even then the trips would be very quick. He had to throw out all his beer and liquor, because if he drank alcohol and smoked dope at the same time he would get dizzy and ill, and if he had alcohol in the house he could not be relied on not to drink it once he started smoking dope. He’d had to do some shopping. He’d had to lay in supplies.

Infinite Jest, Page 170: “All Light”:

i12He had had to buy soda, Oreos, bread, sandwich meat, mayonnaise, tomatoes, M&M’s, Almost Home cookies, ice cream, a Pepperidge Farm frozen chocolate cake, and four cans of canned chocolate frosting to be eaten with a large spoon. He’d had to log an order to rent film cartridges from the InterLace entertainment outlet. He’d had to buy antacids for the discomfort that eating all he would eat would cause him late at night. He’d had to buy a new bong, because each time he finished what simply had to be his last bulk-quantity of marijuana he decided that that was it, he was through, he didn’t even like it anymore, this was it, no more hiding, no more imposing on his colleagues and putting different messages on his answering device and moving his car away from his condominium and closing his windows and curtains and blinds and living in quick vectors between his bedroom’s InterLace teleputer’s films and his refrigerator and his toilet, and he would take the bong he’d used and throw it away wrapped in several plastic shopping bags. His refrigerator made its own ice in little cloudy crescent blocks and he loved it, when he had dope in his home he always drank a great deal of cold soda and ice water. His tongue almost swelled at just the thought.

Infinite Jest, Page 168: “All Edges”:

i13(…)Once the woman who said she’d come had come, he would shut the whole system down. It occurred to him that he would disappear into a hole in a girder inside him that supported something else inside him. He was unsure what the thing inside him was and was unprepared to commit himself to the course of action that would be required to explore the question.

Infinite Jest, Page 164: “Rehearsals”:

i14

He had never once had actual intercourse on marijuana. Frankly, the idea repelled him. Two dry mouths bumping at each other, trying to kiss, his selfconscious thoughts twisting around on themselves like a snake on a stick while he bucked and snorted dryly above her, his swollen eyes red and his face sagging so that its slack folds maybe touched, limply, the folds of her own loose sagging face is it sloshed back and forth on his pillow, its mouth working dryly. The thought was repellent. He decided he’d have her toss him what she’d promised to bring, and then would from a distance toss back to her the $1250 U. S. In large bills and tell her not to let the door hit her on the butt on the way out. He’d say ass instead of butt. He’d be so rude and unpleasant to her that the memory of his lack of basic decency and of her tight offended face would be a further disincentive ever, in the future, to risk calling her and repeating the course of action he had now committed himself to.

(Îmi cer scuze dar nu am păstrat și numărul paginilor)

Mă voi opri aici pentru a vă lăsa pe voi să descoperiți mai multe, Surse:

 

http://www.erasinginfinite.com/   

&

Facebook Page: https://www.facebook.com/ErasingInfinite