Hyunmee Lee & Sagawa Chika : Still Winds

Posted on March 20, 2016 by

0


h1

Hyunmee Lee este un artist născut în Coreea, a locuit în Australia iar acum trăieşte şi lucrează în America. Se pare că tablourile ei reunesc Taoismul, Budismul şi Confucianismul cu arta europeană modernă şi caligrafia. Mie  îmi dau senzaţia de expresii ale unor sentimente foarte puternice îmbuteliate şi păstrate în cutiuţe mici şi bine încuiate. Sunt extrem de expresive în simplitatea lor stilistică. Cumva, când mă uit la ele, încep să simt ceva-ceva apoi apare nevoia de a mă abţine. E foarte interesant. Iată care este statement-ul de lucru al ei:

ARTIST STATEMENT
My art practice crosses three continents over two decades. The works consider the images and ideas that mark my journey into the spiritual and cultural dimensions of painting as a creative activity. During a period when I have carried adventurous journeys across several different social and geographic divides, I began to search deeper for an understanding of who I am, and where I am. My paintings started to explore the idea of self as the most fundamental element of human nature; I tried to seek my identity as I examined human nature (SURSA)

Aici este site-ul ei.

Mă face să mă gândesc la haiku-uri şi la poezia modernă făcută doar din câteva versuri care nu spun mult dar implică multe. De aceea am căutat un poet japonez şi am găsit-o pe Sagawa Chika, poetesă avangardistă japoneză care a fost uitată ani de zile după moartea sa la doar 25 de ani (cancer la stomac) dar care va fi tradusă în 2011 de Sawako Nakayasu. Numele său este un pseudonim care se scrie cu caracterele japoneze pentru ,,stânga” şi ,,râu”. Puteţi afla mai multe despre ea aici.  Acest articol este o joacă şi trebuie privită ca atare (unii oameni chiar n-au ce face şi trebuie să se mai şi joace – rimă involuntară), orice asemănare cu o treabă serioasă trebuie luată în serios. Găsiţi poemele ei traduse în engleză aici, de unde voi prelua câteva fragmente.

Paintings: (c) Hyunmee Lee

Poetry: (c) Sagawa Chika, From Sagawa Chika Zenshishû (Collected Works of Sagawa Chika) Shinkaisha, 1983 – translated by Sawako Nakayasu

h2

The night makes the bruised woman, freely twirling her stolen expression, go mad with joy.

h3

I, too, must finally get off the hill.

The city cafés are beautiful glass spheres, and a troop of men have drowned in wheat-colored liquid.
Their clothing spreads in the liquid.
Madam with the monocle tears off her last hunk of bread and hurls it at them.

h4

Because the phone rang suddenly the villagers were surprised.
So does this mean that we must relocate.

h5

I was saved from having to jump from the second floor.
The sea rises to the heavens.

h6

Seasons have four keys, slide down the stairs. The entrance is shut again.
The blue tree is hollow. When hit, it sounds.
While the night sneaks out.
That day,
I am as sad as the skin of the boy in the sky.

h7

I understand. The mistrust between people. Outside, a salty air stirs the spirit.

h8

The city in my vision opens and closes, making my dreams spin
and in its pursuit, the men nearly collapse with tremendous force
I am abandoned

h9

I lose countless images to that other side.

HyunmeeLEE-51.jpg

Paintings: (c) Hyunmee Lee

/

Poetry: (c) Sagawa Chika, From Sagawa Chika Zenshishû (Collected Works of Sagawa Chika) Shinkaisha, 1983 – translated by Sawako Nakayasu